Technology and the 21st Century

SOS: Family does not know how to use technology.

Let me just start off by saying that until last night at 11:30pm, I thought we were living in the 22nd century… It wasn’t until my friend Thomas stopped laughing at me that I found out otherwise. NOW, with that being said let’s focus on the real reason you’re here: it is shocking to me how terrible 95% of adults are when it comes to technology.

I feel justified in saying that members of my family regularly contribute to a large portion of that percentage. Ever since I can remember, my mom has preached the philosophy work smarter, not harder. It wasn’t until I took a step back and realized that the woman has single handily trained (or manipulated, your choice) everyone around her to complete her technology dirty work.

The notion that it’s ok for adults to trick the youth into doing their technology dirty work is sweeping the nation and I don’t know how I feel about the manipulative qualities our parents are having on us. Like when did the saying you’re a big girl/boy, you can figure it out stop applying to all adults who struggle with some form of modern day technology… Because I think Generation Y needs to put their foot down and say no to these technologically challenged adults.

It’s not just parents that I have an issue with. Teachers full of life and knowledge automatically transform into a toddler when it comes to setting up technology in the classroom. I like to think of myself as a patient person, but the moment I see an adult struggling to use any form of modern tech all bets are off.

My mom is the modern day Miss No Know How To Use Technology. I’m 99% positive she would take the crown in that pageant. Actually, I think she’s already started to prepare for it. Just the other day she texted me saying she was getting pageant ready. I didn’t make the connection to what she was referring to until just now… So make sure to vote Mary for the 2014 Queen of the No Know How To Use Technology pageant!

EDITING UPDATE: Oh I’m sorry “readers,” if I can really even call you that. This post was live for three weeks and not one of you caught my grammatical error??? How you gonna let me use the improper form of you’re and get away with it. I’m ashamed. Help a sister out; let me know if I make any spelling or grammatical mistakes and comment below.

One thought on “Technology and the 21st Century

Leave a comment